Tags

, , , ,

partyPerforming at certain venues often makes me jaded about the place. The atmosphere feels familiar and the audience reactions become predictable.

That’s right, I can tell beforehand with 90% accuracy whether my show will kill or tailspin. I do that just by knowing in advance where the party will be held.

When I perform at a venue for the first time, my level of energy is high. It’s like driving to an unfamiliar destination. I don’t have the confidence I can anticipate every twist and turn of the road.  So I stay alert and focused lest I hit something.

Over the last few months, I have gone to new venues. “New” in the sense it was my first time to perform there.

Let me just mention three I like most:

arya1Arya Residences, Bonifacio Global City: This is spanking new. Some parts outside the twin towers still have scaffoldings.  They announce to the world that work is still going on.

But the lobby is elegant and well appointed. The function room where the party was held is narrow and long and not as spacious as I expected. It will hardly accommodate ten tables. But the sliding side doors lead to a vast open space outside. There the guests can cook barbecues and admire the cityscape below.

Lancaster Clubhouse, New City, Imus, Cavite:

This place is out of the way. To get there, we drove along narrow roads that cut across empty lands. Rice fields, I supposed, in previous, not so long-ago era.

lancaster clubhouseThe clubhouse sports a neo-modern look. It stands right next to a chapel with compatible modern architecture.

My only complaint is that the function room is on the third floor. The part that sucks? There is no elevator.

Otherwise, the venue’s amenities are adequate for live performances like magic shows.

cube2The Cube. Dona Lucing Avenue, Fil-Am Friendship Highway, Angeles City:

The Cube is an off-highway destination. You have to Waze or Google Map your way to find it. Once you have gotten off Dona Lucing Avenue, follow a long, winding road. It is part dirt road and part rolling ground in the middle of nowhere.

But once you get to the place, you see The Cube in its resplendent glory. Right beside it is a replica of the Eiffel Tower.  I do not understand why it is part of the building’s design. But I suspect The Cube is patterned after Paris’ Le Cube.  Thus, the Eiffel Tower.

Anyway, The Cube’s main function room is so large and the ceiling so high that the acoustics suffer. During my performance, I had to enunciate my words more carefully than usual. Otherwise, the echoes inside the building would garble my jokes and punchlines.

Stay magical,

Leodini

www.sirleodini.com

