Tags

, , , , , ,

You may have noticed it as well as I have. The advent of the Internet has made YouTube a leading source of knowledge for magicians. Especially for beginning magicians.

youtube photo: Youtube 100624080834_youtube_google_226x170.jpgRare is the magician who does not go online to watch YouTube videos of magic performances. They watch to admire world-class artists. They use them as inspiration. They study their techniques. And most of all, they reverse engineer their methods.

I don’t think watching YouTube videos is a bad thing at all. When it comes to learning a skill, it can be effective for visual learners.

 photo e6ff3184-175f-4f14-9538-580dc13a047c_zpsy8f3txas.jpgI’m no exception. Although I prefer books to videos, I spend hours on YouTube every time I have a DIY (Do It Yourself) project to do. I even watch online videos on how to improve my tennis serve and volley. I’m happy to claim my game has improved.

If you have not yet tried mining YouTube for knowledge, try it sometime. The vastness of information it holds online will surprise you.

I’m sure many magicians have become better performers watching magic performances on YouTube. But because magic thrives on secrecy, it requires some basic rules to perform it well.

In most part, online instructional videos gloss over these basic rules. Many don’t even mention them.

So for those who don’t have any inkling of these rules, here is Michael Ammar reminding us about them.

Stay magical,

Leodini

www.sirleodini.com

 

