Tags

, , , ,

2015 photo: 2015 Charm 2015-g.jpgAs a long-time New Year resolutionist, I am a hopeless case. My only consolation is that over the years of making and breaking New Year resolutions, I have become good at it. I even suspect I am now an expert in New Year resolutions.

One of the recurring themes in the quest of self-transformation every time New Year rolls in is economy. Thus, you hear people pledging to be frugal to achieve a better financial well-being.

Frugality, however, is not confined to controlling expenses. It also extends to other daily activities—eating less, being immobile-all-day less, weighing less, talking less.

Well, talking about “talking less”…it is not only for ordinary folks to resolve. Cutting on the verbiage during a magic show is a good performing technique if a magician wants to attain a streamlined act.

I’ve written about this technique before. I call it Economy of Words.

Let me repeat and paraphrase myself:

talking photo: Talking To The Hand TalkingToTheHand.jpgEconomy of Words…Many magicians and mentalists suffer from this malady because of their love of oration. They talk and talk and talk. They would not listen to feedback that long oration bores the audience.

While many orators and preachers can mesmerize audiences with endless talks, not many mentalists and magicians have the ability to talk long and entertain.

It’s like being funny.  Not everyone is funny, but guess what. Many magicians try to be Michael Finney or Fielding West with disastrous effect.

In the same way, many magicians who love their voices also try to engage their audience with long and endless chatters. The effect is no less disastrous.

Stay magical,

Leodini

www.sirleodini.com

