Tags

, , ,

 photo adultparty2_zps44dbb834.jpgFor over a period now, I have been getting a number of gigs for adult parties.

A 60-year-old British guy in Angeles City. An 80-year school teacher in Bulacan. An 80-year-old Chinese millionaire in Cagayan de Oro.

This coming Sunday I’ll be the entertainer in a 50th birthday party, and next week, in a debut party of a Fil Am girl. All this in between my shows for children’s parties.

 photo partyadult_zpsf410c61b.jpgI’m really glad that the lay public now recognizes magic as an entertainment of choice at adult parties. Whereas before people equate magic to children’s parties, I think in some sectors of society, especially among the upper class folks who have been to Las Vegas and seen magic shows catering to adult audiences, magic is now accepted as a great entertainment for grownups.

The stereotypical view of magic as children’s entertainment may not totally change in the public’s mind for as long as there are children’s birthday party magic shows. However, if magicians in the Philippines will exhibit versatile performance styles and provide materials suitable to the taste of mature audiences, more grownups will invite magicians to their parties to entertain adult guests.

When booking magic shows for grown up parties, I always emphasize to the client that my show, though suitable for mature audiences, doesn’t contain blue, green or any off-color material.

My jokes stay clean, as opposed to the comedy material of gay comedians. I have for several times performed at adult parties where the client also booked stand-up comics who peppered the audience with insult, sex and bathroom jokes.

Because of their skills as entertainers, these comics always bring the house down. I often quake in my pants when following those acts, because my material, being clean, may not go well with the adult audience.

Thankfully, I always kill with my show, even though the jokes are clean.  Which brings me to a realization: one can entertain at adult parties even using family oriented materials.

Except perhaps for stag parties, where the entertainer is expected to perform some rowdy routines and spout languages that would even make sex workers blush. But thankfully, someone has yet to ask me to perform at stag parties. When the day comes that someone does, I’ll turn down the invitation, because I don’t have a suitable material for that type of gig.

 photo standup_zps0ac40321.jpgLast year a client booked me for a company party. She said there were no children in the audience. “You can go as naughty as you can.”

Well, I accepted the gig and did some naughty tricks, but they still came out clean compared to the material used by the standup comedians who came after me.

Stay magical,

Leodini

www.sirleodini.com

