Tags

, , , , ,

I have this nagging suspicion that magicians of the lesser kind who happen to catch my show are disappointed by my program.

They don’t see finger-breaking and knuckle-busting moves, shiny props, boxes with deceptive bases, and sexy girls in skimpy clothes gamboling onstage.

dancing girls photo: Girls-dancing Girls-dancing.jpg

All they see, instead, is me, a sex symbol wannabe, throwing riposte and repartee at the audience and producing doves from beat-up boxes.

Well, first, I don’t perform for magicians. In the Philippines, I believe that’s not a lucrative market.

birthday boy photo: Birthday Boy Birthday_web.jpgInstead, I perform for little Junior at his birthday party. I make his friends laugh and entertain his mom and dad and their guests. That’s my goal—to entertain thoroughly lay people, not to fool the magicians in the audience.

It’s nice to fool magicians too, if you asked me. I do that once in a while, when I’m in the mood, and the moon is rising in the horizon, and the cicadas are chirping, and the cool evening breeze is upon my face.

Yes, I do try to fool magicians occasionally, when the time is right, but not at birthday parties, where the dynamic of performing big-hitting magic is not present.

However, if you happen to attend an IMC meeting, you may catch me break out some big, profound guns.

I once performed my version of Richard Osterlind’s BCS (Breakthrough Card System) during a weekly meeting. It thoroughly fooled a well-posted friend of mine, the Chinaman. Until today, he claims, he gets a headache trying to reverse engineer the trick.

Over a couple of years, I also performed twice during a meeting my Magic Square routine. It is based on John Archer’s method and presentation. On these two occasions, Tito Cris thought I used stooges. For him, the effect was so impossible there was no other explanation but that I used stooges.

On my word of honor, I perform the Magic Square without the use of a stooge. There’s no need for one, if you know the method.

Sometimes it’s funny but sad also that magicians of the lesser kind would try to impress me when I’m in their party.

There was this clown-magician who hosted the party I was to perform at. He insisted he perform magic also, because, according to him, that’s the wishes of the birthday mom.  He said his show runs for 50 minutes (it was longer than my show; I perform only for 45 minutes).

Anyway he went onstage ahead of me. He produced a number of parasols and performed ball and card manipulation. I thought his manipulative skill was not that bad, but because the show was at a birthday party, with people watching from the sides, he flashed a lot of secret moves.

He also sucked big time in the entertainment department. After three minutes of his manipulative magic, in front of all the guests the birthday mom signaled him to stop.

crying clown photo: Boehner Clown Cries boehnerclowncries.jpgHe slinked quietly into the backstage, and for the first time in my life I saw a clown cry.

“Was I that bad?” he asked.

I didn’t have the heart to tell him the truth, so I just told him the program was running late and the birthday mom wanted to move everything faster. It was a bad lie, but I figured the truth was so awful that if I broke it to him he might shift career and be a macho dancer.

Moral of the story: no need to impress me with your technical prowess. Instead, impress the parents who hired you by entertaining the guests.

That’s your mission in life. Entertain the lay people, not the magicians in the audience.

sleight-of-hand-magicianIgnore me when you are performing. Unless you are Jeff McBride, you won’t impress me even if you can back-palm a dozen giant cards or classic-palm four bowling bowls.

In the same way, I won’t dream even in my dreams to impress you with my performing ability, because I am not that good either. I’m just lucky to be born with the handsome genes of Mel Gibson.

Stay magical,

Leodinit 

www.sirleodini.com

