Tags

, , ,

enigma photo: Enigma enigma.jpgOne enigma that has stumped me over the years is a parent’s feedback after the show. “Thank you, Leodini, for the great show. The children really enjoyed the magic.”

This comment would have been music to my ears were it not for one glaring fact: my show is not a children’s magic show.

children's magician photo: MAGICIAN 195fb1e3.jpgThere are magicians in the Philippines who specialize in entertaining children. They can make children laugh and scream with delight with bits of funny business in performing their magic. I salute this type of magicians.

On the other end of the spectrum are magicians who specialize in performing for adult audiences. They can drop laugh lines and entertain grownups with sophisticated magic. I salute this type of magicians, too.

I am somewhat in the middle. I structure my program so they entertain audiences at two levels. I like to think that my shows suit family audiences—that is, children and parents watching together. I salute myself for being this type of magician.

So that brings me to the original question at the beginning of this post: if I entertain both children and adult, why then the feedback is that “the children enjoyed the magic,’ instead of “both the children and adults enjoyed the magic.”

Well, let me hazard a guess. No, two guesses. To sound intelligent, I call them theories.

Theory One: I suck at entertaining adults, and the birthday mom doesn’t have the heart to tell me.

Theory Two: the adults, if they can help it, don’t want to admit they enjoy a magic show, lest people question their taste for entertainment.

You see, for eons now, magic has been associated with children’s entertainment. Most people consider it kids’ stuff. So those who enjoy magic, enjoy it secretly and will disavow publicly their enjoyment of it.

megaphone photo: Megaphone megaphone.gifSince I don’t want to accept that I suck at performing for adults, the second theory is the one I’m going to preach on rooftops from now on.

Stay magical,

Leodini

www.sirleodini.com

