Tags

, , , , ,

aliw theater photo: aliw theater Sobrangaliw.jpgP275,000 per day!

No, that’s not a misprint. It’s P275, 000 per day to rent Aliw Theater in Star City.

This piece of information hit me like an onrushing train. I probably gave the Aliw Theater staffer a “deer in headlights” look when he blurted out the price to me.

That was last Sunday, when I performed in Aliw Theater during the Coca Cola Femsa family day.

Designer label for 2 litre Coca-Cola bottle

Since FEMSA is a leading Latin American franchise bottler of Coca-Cola products (it recently acquired Coca-Cola Bottlers Philippines, Inc.), a good number of audience members were made up of Latin Americans.Two of those I brought on stage for the audience-participation part were good-looking Mexican guys and one pretty Colombian girl. Seeing so many foreigners in the audience was like performing in a foreign land in a huge venue like Aliw Theater.

Dumbfounded by the awesome size of the theater, I asked a staffer how much would it cost to hire the theatre. That’s when he quoted me the equally awesome P275,000-per-day price.

I told him we need to have the theatre at least an extra day for the dress rehearsal. How much would it cost?

He said the cost would be P275,000 times two days.

Not that the theatre doesn’t deserve that princely sum. It’s just that I’m disappointed to know I can’t afford to stage a show there.

First of all, I don’t have P275,000 to spend in one day, let alone P275,000 times two days.

Second of all, I don’t know where I was going to source that much capital to stage IMC’s anniversary show in September.

The clueless me asked for a price quote, because I fell in love with the place at first sight.

aliw theater photo: Fountain in Aliw Theater cute.jpgEverything about Aliw Theater is huge and first class. Over a thousand seats. The backstage is so spacious it might as well be another function room. We can bring in cranes and forklifts to levitate petite ladies, just like the way the Masked Magician teaches levitation on his TV exposures.

The wings are bigger than most theater stages, and the stage itself can hold half-a-dozen elephants. You can throw in a couple of hippopotamuses and giraffes with plenty of room to spare. That is, if a magician would like to produce lots of large animals, Aliw theater could probably hold them all comfortably.

It provides personal dressing rooms backstage. Not one room for male artists and another room for female, but individual rooms for the leads in the cast.

I failed to observe how good the light system was, but I supposed they were state-of-the-art. And oh, the sound. Because the acoustics of the theater were sublime, I dropped laugh lines in a sparkling voice. The squeaks and the squawks in my voice were all gone like magic.

But no, IMC can’t afford the place. For that matter (after a reality check) we will stage our anniversary show in a more modest environment.

In the meantime, we will keep on dreaming to stage a full evening magic and illusion show in Aliw Theater.

Dreams are free, so dream on.

Stay magical,

Leodini

www.leodini.com

