Tags

, , , , , , ,

 photo 20130331_133159_zpscd2f46ae.jpgThe traffic was gloriously light last Easter Sunday, as many Metro Manila motorists kept out of the streets in celebration of Christ’s glorious resurrection.

My team and I had lots of time in between shows. We finished our first show in Dasmarinas, Makati Pavilion around 11AM. Since our call time at Resorts World Manila was 2PM, we grabbed a leisurely bite of Bacolod Inasal in McKinley Hills before driving to the venue.

 photo 20130331_144641_zps9553bd95.jpgGetting into Resorts World posed no hassles. Courteous to a fault, the security guards let us and our equipment inside the plaza area without nitpicking on our stuff. The drop-off point was also just a few meters behind the stage, so my assistants didn’t even break a sweat lugging our props into the stage area.

The stage backdrop was a large television screen, and so I said to myself, “I can do small magic here, and it will be visible to the folks at the back rows.”

Which was good news, because except for my sub-trunk, I couldn’t perform the other illusions. There were people watching from the upper floors, and they were looking downward to the stage. I had to drop some numbers in the program, even though the organizers wanted me to be on stage for one hour. Thanks to the giant video screen, even the egg bag routine earned a big audience reaction.

 photo 20130331_130718_1_zpsafd3bb79.jpgIt was nice bumping into Jules Junio during the event. He was twisting balloons for the early birds.

During my show, I caught a glimpse of Jeff Tam and his beautiful fiancee Hannah in the audience. When they went backstage after the performance, I learned they just accidentally walked into the event. It happened that Hannah was killing some time before boarding a plane back to Iloilo that evening. The couple decided to kill the time in Resorts World, since it’s just a stone throw away from the airport.

Other performers for the day were Russian skaters and a bicycle acrobat. Overall, the event was a smashing success, if one is to consider the huge crowd it attracted.

The traffic was still light around 5PM when we drove home. It was a leisurely Sunday, even though we had to crisscross Metro Manila to get to our shows.

Stay magical,

Leodini

www.leodini.com

