Tags

, , , , , ,

The folks at McDonald’s know this great, not so-secret marketing truth: that children can be the decision maker in families with disposable income.

That explains why the marketers at McDonald’s use children as precision targets of their tri-media ads.

I’m mentioning this to you because in yesterday’s big party of a seven-year-old girl, this decision-making power of a child came into play.

I arrived at the party when it was already in full swing. The children were playing parlor games conducted by a professional party host.

The mom met me at the entrance of the clubhouse of an upscale subdivision and whispered conspiratorially to me, “She saw you at her sister’s birthday party four years ago. She insisted you are the magician on her party today.”

When the birthday girl saw me, she peeled off from the group of playing children, rushed to me and, with eyes glowing, did an invisible pogo stick act before me. “Leodini, thank you for coming to my birthday party.”

She looked so sincere in saying that I though I had a tear peeking in my eye.

When the party host announced the start of my show, the birthday girl sat in the front row and led the children in chanting, “Le-o-di-n!…Le-o-di-ni!..Le-o-di-ni!..”

Having an audience like that, I was invincible. I couldn’t do wrong. Even the things I did wrong were right in their eyes and were met with either applause or appreciative laughter.

Another memorable child decision-maker was this little boy who first saw me on his fifth birthday party. Later that year, he and his family vacationed in the US. David Copperfield happened to be in the same town when they were there, so dad and mom dangled to him a once-in-a-lifetime idea:”Let’s go watch David Copperfield show tonight.”

The boy (according to the parents who recounted this anecdote to me) dryly replied: “Not interested. I only watch the magic of Leodini.”

So who do you think the parents hired for his seventh birthday? And for his eighth?

The lesson of these stories is to aspire to be like McDonald’s marketers. Make the children the target of your entertainment. Make them root for you. Make them laugh. Amuse them. Amaze them. When they decide it’s you they want on their birthday parties, the parents will fork out the money to get you there.

Stay magical,

Leodini

www.leodini.com

The boy

