Tags

, , , , , ,

PhotobucketWith thousands of magic tricks out there, you would think that choosing material for a magician’s program would be a cinch.

Oddly, it’s not.

Let me show you the odds. If you watch a magic competition, what’s the odd of several contestants doing the same tricks?

I believe one hundred percent chance that three or four contestants will have the same material in their contest pieces. Probably, it would be magic canes, parasol magic, dove production, Snowstorm in China and Throw Streamers.

If you are watching a close-up contest, it would be, hands down, variations of pick-a-card trick, Cups and Balls, and its little brother, the Chop Cup.

PhotobucketNow, on the other hand, if you were watching a singing contest, say, American Idol, what’s the odd that some of the contestants will sing the same song? Would you bet that contestant one, three and seven would sing My Way?

Don’t bet on it, or you’ll lose. None of the contestants would sing “My Way” or songs the other contestants would. Naah, it’s not gonna happen.

magicshop2However, in magic competitions, duplicate materials happen a lot. Which is a conundrum, because the magic dealer’s catalogues are bursting with gazilion bazilion tricks. The odd that two contestants will do the same trick is high, unless they deliberately include in their contest pieces the tricks they know their competitors are going to do.

So what’s wrong here?

Tell me. In all my great wisdom, I don’t have the answer.

I have only guesses.

In a future post, I will tell you my guesses.

Best,

Leodini

www.leodini.com

