Tags

, , , , , ,

knowledgeKnowledge is power, so say people who are more knowledgeable than I.

Should I then be tickled pink (even though I’m brown complexioned) that some people think I know everything?

I shouldn’t, because the truth is, I don’t know everything.

Also, some people think I’m an expert in magic, mentalism and a few other nebulous things.

I am not.

I may write about magic and its allied arts, but I don’t know everything there is about these subjects. I just appear to be a fountainhead of knowledge. The semblance of genius is just an illusion, like many of my tricks.

expertEven though I may disclaim my limitations till I’m rainbow-colored in the face, a few stragglers have kept their faith in me. They have irrevocably made up their mind that I’m an expert.

That must be the reason that occasionally I receive letters from my readers asking advice on the whole gamut of performing magic.

With a sense of urgency, I’d type my thoughts on the issues raised before me as best I could until the keyboard of my five-year-old laptop complains of aches and pains.

One of the most memorable letters I received was from Joe D’Mello of the US. He asked me for my opinion of the rose petal images of Bro. Carmelo Cortez. He needed to be informed if these were authentic miracle or a magic trick.

UntitledIf you have been living in a cave playing PlayStation all day, let me fill you in on some background information.

Bro. Carmelo Cortez, a Filipino religious person, is touted as a visionary. He conducts religious services, both here and in the US, where he distributes rose petals that many devotees claim to be miraculous.

Why miraculous?

Because the petals start out blank, but then when Bro. Carmelo gives them to the devotees, sacred images of Jesus, Mary and other saints start to appear on the petals.

Joe D’Mello wrote to ask if these images are divine work or magic tricks.

To read more about this interesting topic, please click Rose Petal Images: Miracle or Not?

Whether you are a believer, a skeptic, or a magician, you will want to read the article and the more than 70 comments that follow it, because the topic is both about religion and the possibility of magic trickery.

Stay magical,

Leodini

www.leodini.com

