Tags

, , , , , ,

Photobucket

Lou and I are doing the Siamese Twins illusion at Golden Bay Restaurant. It's a new illusion, so please don't copy it.

As the country’s top magician and illusionist, Lou Hilario serves and dominates his niche market. In comparison, Leodini, the Mel-Gibson look-alike magician, serves a still undominated niche market.

If you think about it, there is no comparison between Lou and Leodini, except that they both look sexy.

Because of the difference in market niches, Lou and I rarely bump into each other when doing gigs.

One such rare occasion was last Sunday. We found ourselves performing magic at the huge Golden Bay Restaurant on Macapagal Avenue. He did his show in the main ball room downstairs, while I did mine on one of the smaller function rooms upstairs.

Lou surprised me and my crew with a visit at the stage area in my part of the restaurant. As usual, we talked about magic and the fine art of performing it.

Being the more battle tested in this business, Lou shared with me some thoughts on the psychology of entertaining at a large party. A banquet-style event has its set of challenges. Many attractions go on at the same time to distract the guests and demotivate them from watching the magic show.

Lou knows about my nagging and occasional lack of confidence when facing an audience. Before my shows, I always am a bundle of nerves. I find some audiences intimidating. They leave me quaking in my pants.

PhotobucketAt times like this, I always keep in mind Lou’s lecture in the past. He had urged magicians to welcome pre-show jitters instead of allow it to overwhelm them. He said that performing magic would be less enjoyable without the jitters. Magic shows would be hardly challenging anymore without a dose of nervousness.

Over the years of performing magic, I have validated the correctness of this observation. In fact, it is so spot on that I believe Lou would have made an excellent psychotherapist had he chosen that career path. He would be making bundles of money dispensing advice to magicians who have trouble controlling their stage fright.

However, I think he loves to talk to his parrots and puppets more than he likes talking to schizophrenic magicians like me. That must explain why he did not go the way of psychiatry.

PhotobucketTalking to Lou is always an educational exercise. I consider him a fountainhead of wisdom. It’s amazing how much he knows about the art of magic.

If you have the chance of having an audience with Lou, listen carefully to what he says.

A caveat, though. He may not be always accommodating to talk trade with just anybody. To be fair with him, you have first to earn your spurs to gain access to his fountainhead of wisdom and drink from it.

PhotobucketBefore then, content yourself with drinking beer and hope something useful for magic will come out of it.

Stay magical,

Leodini

www. leodini.com

