Tags

, , ,

PhotobucketFor a long time, I have been salivating for an iPad. One person in my schizophrenic self keeps telling me I don’t need it. The other one keeps urging me to get one, telling me I can always find something useful to do with it in my line of work.

Like a Tibetian monk, I discipline myself not to give in to temptation, but over a few years, the darned thing has become ubiquitous. Everybody owns one. I find it everywhere, even at parties where I perform. Sadly, the money to buy it is not as nearly commonly found as the iPad.

Let’s admit it. The iPad comes with a high price tag that’s beyond the financial reach of most ordinary folks.

Unfortunately, I belong to the tribe called “ordinary folks”. For us, buying an iPad is a big decision to make. It’s so big I couldn’t get myself to decide to buy it.

Photobucket

I wait for my turn on stage at Makati Shangrila Hotel.

Fortunately, I have a birthday that comes once every year. I have also two girls who have expendable income and can afford to spoil me with fashionable gadgetry.

It happened that on my birthday (March 9), I was engaged to perform magic for a 7-year-old girl at Makati Shangrila Hotel. So literally, I was able to claim for marketing purpose that I spent my birthday in a five-star hotel. It’s like some magicians who went to Hong Kong for sight-seeing and performed a card trick for a saleslady. When the magician came back to the Philippines, he began claiming he is an “international magician”, because he had performed magic in Hong Kong.

That sort of claim is the same as the one where I said I spent my birthday in Makati Shangrila Hotel. It’s not a lie. It’s just stretching the truth to its snapping point.

Anyway, the greatest joy on my birthday was when I opened the gift from my two girls. I nearly fell from my chair when, after I tore open the wrapper, I beheld a brand new iPad.

PhotobucketIt seems like yesterday that my two daughters were giggling little girls playing hide-and-seek in the house. Now, they can afford to buy their father a gadget that he can’t afford to buy himself. It makes me realize that despite my protests and my thrashing about, my kids have grown up and so have I.

Actually, I have not grown “up”, but just “old.”

So please, excuse me as I play games on my iPad to pretend I’m still young and trendy.

Stay magical,

Leodini

www.sirleodini.com

