Tags

, , , , , , , ,

PhotobucketApart from educating myself in the art of magic, I have been studying the English language for most of my life. Still, I can’t claim I have achieved thoroughness in my knowledge of the language.

On the contrary, some English terms used by English-speaking magicians confound me. Allow me to share my befuddlement.

Elmsley Count – I suspect this term breaks a rule in syntax. The usual usage of the title “Count” is to put it before the name, as in “Count of Monte Cristo”, or “Count Dracula“. If you follow the language rule, Elmsley Count should, therefore, be Count Elsmley. I’m at a loss why magicians insist on calling him Elmsley Count.

PhotobucketIT, T&R Newspaper, TT – Part of magicians’ cryptography. Its purpose is to communicate cryptic messages that are unintelligible to ordinary people.

An example: “Don’t use an IT if you want to float a T&R Newspaper because you can’t vanish it with a TT.”

Unless you are a magician, you wouldn’t know what that means even if you puzzle over it till kingdom come.

Granting you are a magician and familiar with magic’s cryptography, you probably still can’t  make sense of the next arcane writing.

I could not.

M****r B*x– Favorite cryptic writing by secretive armchair magicians on online forums. It means Mirror Box.

PhotobucketStripper Deck – This is not a balcony where DOM’s (Dirty Old Magicians) watch from a vantage view beautiful girls remove their clothes. A Stripper Deck is made of cards wide at one end. When the chosen card is reversed end to end in the deck, the magician can find it by feel.

What I like about the English language, though, is that they reveal the inner thought processes of the person who uses it.

For example, I always suspected magicians are a subconsciously violent lot. Even children’s magicians, who frown on the use of danger tricks, have violent genes in them.

Thankfully, through the language they use, they show their hidden predisposition to violence. They usually unmask themselves when they talk about how they wow their audiences.

PhotobucketInstead of using the pacifist term “wow”, they would say, “I slew/murdered my audience”, or “I floored them with my performance”, or “Their jaws dropped on the floor.”

When the magician’s act flops, do you think he becomes an instant peacenik humbled by his failure? Nope. He’d brag instead that he “bombed big time”, as if he just got back from a terroristic sortie.

I’m glad I don’t use English as my first language. My first language is Bisaya. In Bisaya, the name Leodini has a non-belligerent meaning. It means good looking and humble.

Stay magical,

Leodini

www.sirleodini.com

