Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Photobucket

Tsukasa "Des" Maekawa entertains children with his own brand of magic.

My friend’s name is not really Des. I think his real name is Tsukasa Maekawa.

I said “I think,” because I’m not sure how to pronounce or spell his name.

I’m a slouch when it comes to foreign names. Since Tsukasa is Japanese, I’m not surprised that I find his name difficult to pronounce, let alone remember.

I happen to call him Des, because everybody in Inner Magic Club calls him by that name. Des is, of course, a Japanese word used to stress a person’s name during an introduction.

When he first came to the Club and introduced himself to the membership, Tsukasa mentioned the obligatory word des as part of his name. That’s how we thought his name was—Des. It was a mistake for us listening to him. Unfortunately, the mistake stuck, and we came to call him by that.

Des and I share the same passions in life. He was a banker, as I once was. He is now retired as I’m now. He loves to play tennis as I do. And he is crazy about magic as I am.

He had intimated his struggle to decide where to spend his retirement years. He said that, in Japan, the tennis courts are all hard courts. His injured knees can’t continue playing on hard surfaces. Here in the Philippines, he can easily find clay or shell courts to play at. In fact, the tennis courts in his subdivision are clay courts.

Also in Japan, he said, there are no magic clubs near his home. While here in the Philippines, Inner Magic Club’s meeting place is just a few minutes drive from his village.

Will he leave his tennis and magic in the Philippines in exchange with the joy of retirement in Japan?

That is a question he has no ready answer yet.

Last Sunday, Des gate-crashed the party I was performing at (upon my invitation) to watch me perform.

He was furiously taking notes during my show. At the end of my performance, he flashed me a huge smile and said he learned a few things about performing magic by watching me.

He showed his appreciation for the lessons he learned that day by inviting me, together with my whole entourage, to a dinner at a busy Chinese restaurant.

Photobucket

From right (counter clockwise): my assistant Allan, my son Kevin, Des, and I face the camera for a souvenir shot after consuming a Chinese dinner.

The place was so busy the wait staff took about 30 minutes to serve our order. When the food finally came, I was famished. The rice tasted soft and delightful in my mouth, so I feasted on it.

Next time, Des and I may schedule a tennis game and do something different from what we did last Sunday. I’m looking forward to playing that game.

This blog entry is just to say thanks to Des for the sumptuous dinner he hosted for us last Sunday.

Stay magical,

Leodini

www.sirleodini.com

