Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

PhotobucketHi Sir Leodini,

How are you today?

I always do my color changing deck routine in my shows. When the green deck turns to blue, it always amazes the audience. But then they keep challenging me to bring it back to green, and we all know that it’s not that easy to do. I just tell them a joke about the deck.

Sir, can you help me construct a joke that will surely hit them in the heart and make them laugh out loud when I do the color changing deck routine?

Thank you so much, Sir…

Hi Greg,

One of the greatest misconceptions in magic is that magicians, to be funny, must tell jokes.

Well, let me tell you this: don’t tell jokes when performing magic.

PhotobucketA joke is like this: “One day a grade one pupil came home and excitedly said, “Papa, I was the only one in class who raised my hand when my teacher asked a question!” The father was pleased. “Good job, son!” he said. “What was the teacher’s question?” The boy answered, “Who did not do his homework?”

That is a joke. You don’t tell jokes when performing magic—but I said that already.

What you do, instead, is drop funny lines, amusing comments, and bits of business. The classic line, “Hold out your hand. No, not that hand. The clean one,” can be funny if  you deliver it correctly and if the line fits your character. You see, for lines to be funny, they should fit your character. That is the greatest secret of being funny in magic.

PhotobucketSo first, define your character and then write lines appropriate for that character. Lines, to be funny enough to make a monkey laugh, should be character-based. That being the case, it’s you who can write these lines better than anyone else, because it’s you who know best your character.

Stay magical,

Leodini

www.sirleodini.com

