Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

PhotobucketI don’t hate much, but tardiness is on top of my hate list.

Who doesn’t hate latecomers?

Well, the obvious answer is the latecomers. They couldn’t hate themselves for something they love to do, which is coming late to appointments.

PhotobucketI am a Filipino, but when it comes to observing time and schedules, I am an extra-terrestrial.

I’ve foresworn tardiness.

I don’t recognize Filipino Time. I don’t like being late. And I don’t look kindly at people who come late.

Those are three “dont’s” in a row. Here’s one more: I don’t want to wait for the latecomers to arrive, or wonder with bated breath if they intend to arrive at all.

Why?

Because I’m an entertainer. Tardiness is not entertaining. A magic show starting behind schedule is not entertaining. A party that can’t start on time because the guests all came late is not entertaining. An entertainer who showed up hours after the appointed time is not entertaining. Stewing on one’s seat in deference to the latecomers is not entertaining.

I don’t want to do all those things to my audience. (Yes, that’s another don’t.)

PhotobucketTo be late for five minutes might be allowable. Fifteen minutes past the indicated time might make the audience restless but still tolerable. But 30 minutes? One hour? Gee, you had better read Leodini’s scholarly book, How to Entertain the Audience by Being Punctual. It’s going to be a New York Times bestseller as soon as I finish writing it.

I was supposed to finish writing it last year, but my schedule is crammed with distractions. So I suppose the book is going to come out late.

PhotobucketSee you later.  I had an appointment to catch a while ago.

Stay magical and punctual,

Leodini

www.leodini.com

