Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Photobucket“Six years ago…” is a good opening line for a short story. I, being a short story writer, know this. Someday I may write a short story and open with this line.

Last Saturday, this line became the sweetest line I’ve ever heard in a while. The birthday dad said it to me almost in a conspiratorial way.

Photobucket“Do you know why we hired you to entertain at my daughter’s birthday?” he asked. “Well, six years ago, my wife and I caught your show at Don Henrico‘s in Malate. We were not even guests in that party. We just happened to eat at the restaurant while the party was going on in the adjoining function room.”

“We couldn’t help but watched the show,” the wife added. “We thought it was so great we must have you at the birthday party of our first child.”

“At that time, we were just sweethearts,” the dad said. “We were not even engaged yet.”

“Still we asked for your business card,” she said, smiling. “Unfortunately, over the years, I lost it.”

Six years have lapsed, and over that period, they got married and have a first child. All she could remember of my name was that it ended in “dini“. So she Googled it, combining other search terms as magician, Philippines, and–voila!—she found me.

That, in short, how after six years, I ended up entertaining the guests at their baby’s first birthday party.

PhotobucketAs I said goodbye after the party, the wife said, “We’ll get you again on my next baby’s birthday. I’m now two-month pregnant.”

I think this six-year sales process is a great story that I need to share it with my readers.

The moral of this little tale is this: make every show as excellent as you possibly can. Perform with all cylinders firing. You wouldn’t know who might be watching.

One thing is sure, though. Those who get to catch your show are all prospective clients. They will invite you to perform at their children’s parties if you impress them so much they can’t shake you out of their mind for six years because you did one helluva show.

Stay magical,

Leodini

www.sirleodini.com

