Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Photobucket

Dear Leodini,

I know you are a genius. I even suspect you are smarter than Einstein. Can you tell me why Filipinos are always laughing?

Sincerely,

Mr. Ignoramus

Dear Mr. Ignoramus, unless I’m terribly mistaken, I think you are ignorant of what you are talking about.

I’m not a genius. I just happen to have the good looks of Mel Gibson.

PhotobucketHow can I be a genius when I can’t even tell you why magicians produce rabbits, not elephants, from hats.

When you refer to “Filipinos”, are you referring to Filipinos in general, or just Filipino audiences?

Since I descended from the Aryan race and I have royal blood in my veins, I can tell you only in a general way why Filipinos are always laughing. Most of these observations I just repeat from the popular notions brought forth by socio-commentators more intelligent than I am.

We Filipinos are always laughing, because we are a happy race. The Philippines happens to be located in the Far East. We get to see the sun rising ahead of most of the world. Since the sunshine catches us while half of the planet is still sleeping—an outcome of a happenstance, if you asked me—our happy genes are already working while the genes of half of the world’s people are still resting in slumber.

We Filipinos are always laughing, because we are by nature a happy lot. It takes just a bit of nudging our funny bones to make us laugh.  We laugh when we are happy. We even laugh when we are sad.

PhotobucketWe Filipinos are a brave people. We always put up a brave face even in the midst of troubles. No food on the table? Debts weighing us down? Houses and belongings washed away by flood?  The brave face is always shown—- laughing, or at least smiling, despite the tribulations.

Filipinos are always laughing, because we are a friendly people. As a race, we are all disciples of Dale Carnegie. We’d rather win friends and influence people than have enemies on Facebook. Just check a Filipino’s account. On average, how many friends he has on Facebook? Maybe in the hundreds. And how many enemies? None.

Filipinos are always laughing, because we have entertainers everywhere. We have singers, dancers, movie stars and comedians. Having earned accolades on international stages, many of them are world-class artists. Even our politicians, who sing and dance during campaign periods, qualify as great entertainers, judging from the applause and laughter they get from voters.

And, of course, Filipinos are always laughing, because we have excellent magicians going the rounds of the entertainment circuit, bringing joy and happiness to audiences.

Even the not-so-great magicians can make Filipino audiences laugh. Even inept magicians can miraculously raise laughs. He drops his thumb tip on the floor? He loses his grip of the billiard?  He fails to escape from the box? Don’t worry. The Filipinos watching him mess up his tricks will still laugh.

PhotobucketOf course, it’s not the kind of laughter a performer wants to hear, but it is laughter nonetheless.

Filipino audiences laugh at bad magicians because, as a I said before, we Filipinos have funny bones that need very little tickling to make us laugh.

Stay magical and keep laughing,

Leodini

www.leodini.com

