Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

PhotobucketI’m not sure who coined the term “torture magic”, but I heard it for the first time only last Monday.

Here’s the story of how I stumbled upon the term…

Upon the invitation of Doc Moraleta, I was at Magfi’s Close-Up Magic Competition last Monday and sat as one of the judges.

I bumped into Lou Hilario and had a long conversation with him after the contest. As always, I found the conversation with him eye- and mind-opening.

As you well know, Lou is the country’s foremost exponent of quality magic. He isn’t regarded as the Philippines‘ Dean of Magic if not for his advocacy for fine magic.

PhotobucketHe filled me in on his recent projects, which convinced me that he is, as he always was, reinventing himself constantly.

I can’t tell you what he is pursuing right now. It’s part of his R&D (Research and Development). It would be unfair to him if a competitor would get wind of his plans and wade in the same water before he can even sail in it.

Suffice it to say that Lou reacted to my post Torturing the Audience with Tortuous Magic, He thought the title was misleading. Instead of winding magic, he expected to read my thoughts on the decline of the entertainment value of magic in the Philippines. And then he proceeded to lament its current state…

Since I agree fully with Lou’s observations, I might as well just share his thoughts with you.

Lou bewailed the proliferation of cheap magic props, YouTube exposures, and pirated instructional materials. All this, he said, had given rise to the number of raw and half-baked magicians.

The ease of accessibility to magic props and secrets due to the advent of multi-media and Internet technology has exacted a serious penalty on magic entertainment. The copiousness of learning material has lowered the access to magic education and training to within the reach of even the mere curious. While this may have developed a wider awareness of the magic art, it has also spawned legions of practitioners who, either lacking the talent to entertain or the required skills, inflict their half-baked magic to the lay public. And then with unbelievable gall, they presumptuously ask money in return for their unentertaining entertainment.

The result?

These raw magicians, in great number, succeed only in torturing their audiences with their bland brand of magic.

PhotobucketThat is the kind of “torture magic” Lou expected to read in my original article.

Well, keep posted. I will gather my thoughts on the subject and share with you my ideas about it.

Meantime, thanks to Lou for the inspired conversation last Monday. As always, I’ve learned many things by mining his mind.

Stay magical,

Leodini

www.leodini.com

