Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Carrie Underwood in concert May 2007

Image via Wikipedia

Okay, it’s been five days since my last post. Just like many Filipino magicians, I observed the Holy Week not by entering into a state of holiness, but by at least not thinking too much about magic.

That explains my five-day absence…

Today, I’m going back to my worldly ways. But before I return to my tricks and illusions, let me share with you an awesome video by an awesome performer.

The awesome performer is Carrie Underwood, “an American country singer-songwriter and actress who rose to fame as the winner of the fourth season of American Idol, in 2005.” (Wikipedia)

The awesome video is the performance of How Great Thou Art, a “Christian hymn based on a Swedish poem written by Carl Gustav Boberg (1859–1940) in Sweden in 1885. The melody is a Swedish folk song. It was translated into English by British missionary Stuart K. Hine, who also added two original verses of his own composition. How Great Thou Art was ranked second (after Amazing Grace) on a list of the favorite hymns of all time in a survey by Today’s Christian magazine in 2001.” (Wikipedia)

In the video performance, moments after the guitar solo, the audience starts giving Carrie a standing ovation even before she finishes the song. And when you begin to doubt she can reach the ever-ascending notes, she continues soaring and hitting them in the stratosphere without losing her voice’s crystal clarity, tone and power.

If, like me, you were less than holy during the Holy Week, watch the video below. Watch it until the end, and take to heart some lessons on how to become a phenomenal performer. If you don’t get goosebumps watching Carrie’s rendition of How Great Thou Art, you are a hopeless case.

Watching this video after Easter Sunday, I feel holier than thou. My advice to you is this: don’t mess up with me you sinful magicians or I’ll give you an earful of a fire-and-brimstone sermon.

Stay magical and sinless. Don’t reveal the secrets of magic.

That, of course, is another story…

Leodini

www.leodini.com

