Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Photobucket

With the advent of HD TV and YouTube, video marketing has sweeped the world, including the Internet. For us entertainers selling our services online, there is really no excuse for ducking this new technology.

Well, since I suspect I’m unique, I have excuses where others have none. In fact I have several excuses.You see, I’m as good as my wife at making excuses. I always find one even when none can be found.

PhotobucketMy extraordinary ability to make excuses is brought about by some weird transactions with customers. Most prospective clients who have found me on the Internet would usually request to see a video of my performance as a tacit pre-condition for booking me. Even those who claimed they saw me performed at some kid’s party in the past or at somebody’s event would ask me to show them a video of me performing magic.

I don’t know why they’d ask me for my performance video if they already saw me live. I think it’s just because doing so is now a standard request, or people just have this compelling urge to want to sound technically savvy. I don’t know.

Anyway, when I get a request for videos, I usually hem and haw. I don’t have professionally taken videos of me in action. Most of the videos I have so far are shot by amateurs, usually by guests in the parties I’m performing at, who share the clips to me. With great hesitation, I then post them on my blog, or somewhere remote on the world wide web, where no one would bother look for them.

PhotobucketI said I post them with great hesitation because a number of the videos were not taken by professional video cameramen using state-of-the-art equipment and space-age technology. While usually the videos serve the purpose of recording the moment, they don’t capture the energy and the fun of the live show. I always thought these videos understate the quality of my program and even suspect they may be unflattering of me.

So when a prospect says, “Can I view a video of your performance?”, I dodge the request as I would dodge my creditors. Only when the prospective client insists on seeing video samples of my magic that I give in and direct them to places on the Net where they can find them.

So far, showing clients my videos has yielded mixed results. Some prospective customers would come back on the phone a few minutes later and would book me. Some would never be heard of again, which makes me suspect the videos turned them off instead of seducing them to hire me.

PhotobucketSo as a marketing tool, videos are not my top client-getter and deal-closer. Let me figure out why, then I’ll come back to you later with a report titled, “How to shoot videos to increase your business a hundredfold.”

Stay magical,

Leodini

www.leodini.com

