Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

PhotobucketDear Leodini,

I am basically a close-up performer.  I have been performing cards, coins, and ropes for many years.

Recently, I got asked to perform at a kid’s birthday party. I have a brilliant idea to make my show a hit with children.  I will produce candies from a dove pan or change bag and throw the sweets away to the children.

I have this vision running in my mind.  The trick will produce a wild reaction from the children.

What do you think? Will the trick work?

Your fanatic fan,

Candy Man

PhotobucketHi Candy Man,

A close-up performer evolving into children’s magician is a normal career path, if you allow me to use a jargon popular in the corporate world.

I went down that path, too. I’m at a loss for reasons that explain why that is the natural progression of magicians.  I suck at philosophizing sometimes.  Today is one such time.

Producing candies is a brilliant idea, but generations of magicians have been doing it since candies were invented. This means this trick is as old as, well, a hill of candies.

I don’t know why many beginning children’s magician think they were the first ever to receive the epiphany of candy production, when for me the idea is so pedestrian that even pedestrians don’t think about it anymore.

Well, anyway congratulations on your candy production concept. At least you show signs of creativity. The way you gush about your routine, you sound like a thinking magician.

PhotobucketHowever, let me douse cold water on your candy-throwing trick.  First, producing candies (or any items) from a dove pan or change bag is not an earthshaking trick, even for children.

Second, if you throw candies to children you will get a huge reaction but not the kind you will like.  Trust me on this.

Once you rain candies on children, there will be a commotion.  Each one of them will dive to the floor to pick those candies, hustling and jostling with each other. Just hope nobody gets hurt, or the child’s mom will not look kindly at you. In fact, she may not even look at you at all, when she swings a fist to your face.

There will be pandemonium. Even if you have training in disaster response, you will take at least a full minute to restore order.  Another minute to get the children’s attention back.  Unless you have the charming personality of a charming person (a redundancy which is not charming to say), you may never re-gain their focus, as they choose to enjoy their share of candies and disregard you.

PhotobucketI have a similar problem with the Card Sword trick. I love this trick, but since it requires me to toss a deck of cards in the air, it always results in a commotion.  Children usually compete to curry favor from me by picking the cards from the floor and returning them to me.  It is just impossible to continue the performance, when you have children gathering cards from the floor and swarming all over you to give them back to you.

Well, if you insist on throwing candies to the children, do it as your final act.  That way you close your program with a stampede.  A horrible reaction but nonetheless huge.  You may get media mileage out of it.

Remember, though, to make a hasty exit from the party, should a Mom of an injured child hunt you down  or put a contract on your head.

Stay magical,

Leodini

www.leodini.com

