Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

PhotobucketHarry Lorayne is a master showman.  Give him a stone, and he will use it to perform something that will get him a standing ovation.  That’s how good he is.

I wish I had even half of his ability to entertain, but I don’t.  So I just watch him in awe as he performs one of the most potentially boring magic in the world, namely, the Magic Square.

I sat in disbelief as I watched his video performance.  The guy doesn’t make sense.  He breaks all the rules in how to be entertaining and yet he goes on and entertains the audience anyway.

PhotobucketPhotobucketFirst, he performs math magic.  As you well know, math is about numbers, and numbers are pretty boring stuff.  Years ago, I failed in college algebra because I got bored with numbers easily.

Second, Harry launched into a long-winded preamble to explain to the audience what a Magic Square is.  My instinct as a performer would tell me not to do that, as a monologue about what you are about to do is a sure-fire formula for creating boredom.Photobucket

Next, when he gets the audience all excited at what he has done, Harry steps on the applause.  Actually, he kills the applause by refusing to accept it before he finishes the calculation on the board.

I wouldn’t dream of strangling applause even in my dream.  I encourage my audience to applaud.  I never forbid them from doing that.  But Harry does just that, not once but several times, and yet, he gets a tremendous ovation at the end of his act.

Haven’t I told you I sat before the PC monitor, watching him in awe and disbelief?

Well, I perform the Magic Square, too.  I’m using John Archer’s routine, which is faster in pace. I love it because it has no lengthy preamble.  The routine is built so it can be handled efficiently by someone with lesser performing skills like me.  Much as I like Harry Lorayne’s presentation, I doubt I can pull it off the way he does it.

Here’s the video of Harry’s performance.  Enjoy the performance of a master.

Stay magical,

Leodini

www.leodini.com

