Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

PhotobucketAs a professional magician in the Philippines, I like to speak with my children often. But my children prefer to talk to their cell phones instead. They find time to talk to me only when they run out of “load”, as in “Papa, pahingi ng pera pang load.”

I don’t blame them for not finding me a good conversationalist.  I speak 10 languages, seven of those I don’t understand, so what can I expect from the kids?

My wife fares less in the talking department. She has a hypnotic voice.  When she talks to me, I fall asleep.

There’s not much conversation in the house. For the most part, we have a silent home, which became the inspiration of Austrian priest Joseph Mohr to compose the lyrics of “Silent Night”.

I have a brilliant idea to solve this situation. One of these days, when I grow up, I want to be a cell phone. Then the children will love to talk to me.

Sorry, I’m just talking to myself.

PhotobucketI bring up today this talk about talking, because in real life, I’m a poor conversationalist. However, my performing persona is different.  As a magic performer, I talk so much that about 85% of my show is “talking” part.

Contrast that with other magicians who can carry on sparkling conversation in real life.  Many of them, when onstage, recedes to a silent world, performing their magic to the beat of their favorite music.Photobucket

Sometime, I wish I could do magic “silently”.  But the cell phones have gotten into my nerves.  I become talkative when I’m performing.

I think I’m a victim of technology.

Stay magical,

Leodini

www.leodini.com

