Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Photobucket When something is floating, the first thing that comes to the mind of the lay people is “string”.

In my experience, a performance of the Zombie Ball would sometimes invite children and adults to comment, “It’s on a string!”

Every time I hear this comment, I let go of all my inhibitions, comfortable in the thought that the audience is on the wrong track in figuring out the trick.

I’ve heard other magicians in the Philippines lamenting about the overexposure of IT magic. They claim lots of people know about it.

I beg to disagree. IT is my bread and butter magic. I get lots of on-the-spot bookings on the strength of this type of magic alone. Just last Sunday, I performed it three times in a row. Every time I performed it, members of the audience would call their husbands, and wives, and brothers and sisters, “Come here! Look at this.” And then they would ask me to do it again.

The people watching me are educated people. The cream of our society, the moneyed families. I have yet to come across one who volunteered that I was using IT.

This has lead me to believe that if IT is indeed known to laymen, they’re not enough o them to warrant shelving IT magic.

I’m convinced handling correctly this performance tool is the key to it its powerful impact. If one handles a floating bill like it’s hanging on a thread, it will look like it’s hanging on a thread. But if the performer handles it like it’s floating, most people won’t entertain the idea that an IT is involved.

Of course, some subtleties must be added to the performance. Borrow the bill you float. Don’t float your own bill, or they will not be impressed.

PhotobucketWhen the bill is floating, wave your hand over, under and around it to disprove the existence of IT. While doing that, control the bill, so it is not bouncing up and down, or swinging from left to right. A floating object should not be bouncing up and down or swinging like a girl on a swing, remember? So don’t let the bill bounce up and down, or they will suspect thread. Practice…And easy does it.

Most of all, it’s in the patter. I’m sorry I can’t share my patter here, because it’s the one that leads people to the wrong track. After some people see me perform a floating bill effect, they inspect my pants. Yes, my pants. Nobody inspects my hands! Thanks to the patter. Let me give you a hint—lead them to another possible but plausible solution to take the heat off the IT.

So if an audience member comments that you’re using thread, it’s either he is guessing or you’re doing it wrong. Go back to practice…

In my opinion, there’s a slim .01 percent chance that a layperson knows about IT. It’s a chance I’m willing to take in order to slay audiences.

Leodini

www.leodini.com


Technorati : , , , ,

