Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Photobucket
I can’t believe it! Once again, all the twelve pages of my wall calendar have fallen like dry leaves. Another year has passed—so quickly. Time has gone by, irretrievably lost, leaving in its wake some happy and not so-happy memories.

New Year’s day is the time of year that a great majority of the Filipino population goes into a frenzy of writing their New Year’s Resolutions.  The idea is to write a road map to guide them to change for the better.

I’m one of those who are caught up with this yearly ritual of resolution writing, only to find myself, a few weeks down the road, back to my old habits.

New Year’s Resolutions have not made me an appreciably better person. It may have improved my writing skills but definitely not my personality or status in life—at least, not in a revolutionary way.

Change can be difficult even to the most resolute seeker of personality development. Change entails waging a battle with one’s demons, deep-rooted habits and fear of the unknown. It requires a Herculean effort on the part of the person wanting to change. It needs motivation to keep him going once it is attempted and started. If change were easy, we wouldn’t be writing the same New Year’s Resolutions every year.

Yes, change can be so difficult that one needs magic to pull it off. Motivational gurus have lots of techniques to teach you how to do it, if you have the time to listen to them, and the money to hand over to them in exchange of firing up your desire to change.

As a Filipino magician performing for family audiences, my method of stoking my desire for change is to take pleasure in the glowing words I receive from clients. I melt on my seat when some of them, on their own accord, take time to write words that warm my heart and motivate me to work harder on my craft.

Here’s one glowing letter that I choose to share with the readers.  On this first day of 2009, I will bask in its glow, hoping that its warmth will excite me throughout the year and drive me to go for more ambitious goals.

Hi Leodini,

Good afternoon.

We watched your show last night at Dinos Alive and we’re very impressed. Your magic is really very different from the usual ones performed at children’s parties. We hope we can get you for our daughter’s 8th birthday party on May 10, 2009 (11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.) in the ballroom of Timberland Heights, San Mateo, Rizal. Our guest list includes approximately 75 adults and 40 kids.

We’re working on a budget of Php10-15k for a one-hour magic show (no hosting). We hope you can include ALL the acts that you did at Dinos Alive. Needless to say, we’re looking forward to the act wherein you changed places with your son inside the trunk. Until now, my husband is still trying to figure out how you did it at such a short a time. (Does your son have a twin brother?)

Please include also the acts involving the birds and animals…they were awesome. Of course, please don’t forget the “slow motion”  one and your “levitating assistant” …really hilarious!

Can you also include a real levitation with a floating person, not a floating table as is common in kiddy parties? And NO ventriloquism please, unless it’s really out of this world. In short, anything UNIQUE and jaw-dropping is okay for us.

Given our budget, can there also be table magic for the early birds? Lastly, what are your booking procedures and payment terms?

Thank you so much and we hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

Mommy Lulay

Many financial analysts, experts and doomsayers say 2009 will be a difficult year.  But effervescent words coming from clients and prospects make everything difficult seem easy and challenges surmountable.

On this first day of 2009, Leodini, the World Famous Magician Known Only in His Own Barangay, will spend time reading his files of client testimonials, soak up its glow and get ready to face the challenges of this year.

Calling all Filipino magicians: weave your magic and bring joy throughout the land all year round.

Stay magical,

Leodini

www.leodini.com

