Every time I hear the claim “Magic is an art” said by a Filipino magician with the serious face of a dentist Photobucketabout to pull my teeth without anesthesia, I break into a smile.

“Magic is an art” is supposed to be a statement of truth, but Pinoy magicians have been dropping this line with such gay abandon I don’t feel in my sinews anymore what it means. In short, I don’t get it.

Just to start a profound discussion this morning, can somebody in the whole archipelago of the Philippines, with or without background in magic (magicians from other parts of the world are also welcome to take a crack at this poser) explain to me what “magic is an art” means?

I have my own thoughts, but I’m bored with it. For a change, I need to hear what others have to say about it.

Stay magical,

Leodini

www.leodini.com

