Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Photobucket

Before I tell you about our psychic eyes, let me use tennis to lay my foundation.

Why tennis? Because I know tennis like I know my wife. So bear with me with this short preamble…

I have been playing tennis since high school. Over the years tennis balls have hit me in various parts of my body, leaving me with welts, bruises, broken fingers and black eyes that I’d nursed for days.

I had been hit in the throat, one eye, thighs, legs and, yes, in that awfully sensitive part between my legs.

In those instances, I was not tracking the ball intently enough.  But when I did, an oncoming ball would seem to stop in mid-air, giving me just a enough time to duck before it zipped by me on its way to the fence.

I thought my reflexes were just super fast, a thought that bloated my ego. Yesterday, a report about a scientific study on human visual system deflated my ego.

It’s not reflex that saved me from direct hits. It’s my eyes ability to see the future that did.

Yes, dear readers, if you are to believe a new study by Assistant Professor Mark Changizi of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in New York, you will accept the idea that we humans have psychic eyes. The study suggests that the human visual system is equipped with the ability to foresee the future.

Now, before the psychics out there jump up and down for joy, the eyes’ psychic ability extends only to 1/10th of a second into the future. Sorry to deflate your enthusiasm, but the discovery is not yet in the league of Nostradamus.

According to reports,  Changizi says that it takes nearly one-tenth of a second for the brain to perceive what the eyes see. When light hits our retina, about one-tenth of a second has gone by the time the brain recognizes the signal as a visual perception of the world.

Changizi says that to compensate for such neural delays, the eyes compensate for the neural lag by generating images of what will occur one-tenth of a second into the future.

This means that when an observer actually perceives something, it is one-tenth of a second in the future rather than the present.

Changizi says that our visual system’s foresight keeps our view of the world in the present. It gives us enough heads up to catch a fly ball or duck from an oncoming tennis ball.

Unfortunately, Changizi uses the results of his studies to explain optical illusions instead of predicting lotto results.

With our eyes having the ability of just 1/10th of a second peek into the future, I will have to stick to using gimmicked envelopes to predict tomorrow’s newspaper headlines.

Stay magical,

Leodini

www.leodini.com

