Tags

, , , , , ,

 photo graphs_zpsaa31eb18.pngAccording to Leodini’s theory on purchaser’s remorse, 99.9 %  of people who paid good money on a magic merchandise will rave about their purchase.  The other 99.9% won’t give any comment for fear of being discovered they have been suckered into buying something they will not find useful.

Okay, the statistics I cited may be skewed, but as they say, 60% of statistics is worthless.

I compiled this statistical report (for my personal use) after I noticed something funny happening on online forums every time a member puts a magic product in the market.

 photo a_zps56da0d1e.jpgFirst comes the announcement. Hello everybody, listen up. I’m finishing the last touches of my (name of product). It will be available in three weeks.

Second comes the tsunami of hypes. The product uses no magnets, threads, trap doors, escaping gases, strings, microchips, circuit boards, yet you can float in the middle of the street completely surrounded by the audience.

Third comes the hosannas of the rah-rah boys, the magic creator’s online friends, who quickly chirp in. Anything coming from (name of magician) is a winner. His name alone stands for quality workmanship and profound thoughts behind the routine. The asking price of $997 is  cheap considering the groundbreaking sleights taught in the accompanying instructional DVD. I hope (name magician) raises the price to keep the product out the reach of ordinary magicians.

Fourth the cloying acclaim and rave reviews roll in. I received the new product today in the mail. The product is worth more than its asking price. I will definitely use it in my show.

Fifth, those who gushed about the products and promised they would use their new purchase, never write again to tell if they, indeed, have added them to their program.

Reason? They probably have not yet added them to their program…not in a long while to come, or even never at all.

Next time another product comes out in the market, they will sing praises again, announce on rooftops they will buy it and promise to add them in their show. While for the most part they keep their promise to buy the new product, they usually never get around to doing something that really matters—that is, add their new purchase to their show.

This cycle of hype, rah-rah, promise-to-use-a-new-purchase, then silence comes and goes and ebbs and flows with uncanny regularity. I suspect someone is writing a script for it.

Why do I know all this?

Because 99% of the time I’m a character involved in this drama called Buyer’s Remorse.

 photo cowgirls-1_zps3e19d6a3.jpgThe silence after the initial hoopla of the introduction of a new product means 99% of the time I realize I’ve bought something I could or would not use.

But, hey, I’m not complaining. Because of this cycle of remorse, I’m getting the hang of statistics getting.

Here’s another one. The latest survey says 80% of Filipino households think Leodini is the best magician in the Philippines. Next week I’m going to conduct another survey…outside of my family members.

Best,

Leodini

www.leodini.com

