Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

PhotobucketLike most magicians in the Philippines, I am an avid fan of Houdini.  Throughout my teen years, his daring escapes so fascinated me I daydreamed of duplicating some of his dangerous feats.

After turning professional magician, though, I found those dangerous feats are not easy to duplicate.  They are not practical to perform in my market. And most of all, they are really, truly, genuinely dangerous.

So my daydream remains until now in the realm of fantasy.

As I mature as performer of magic in the Philippines, I learned that the danger element of an act can be faked. I also discovered that the difficulty of a  stunt can be exaggerated to produce suspense and entertainment of equal intensity as a genuine danger stunt.

PhotobucketSo if you have not seen me perform underwater escapes, that is because I have chosen the coward’s type of escapology.  Meaning, I don’t do dangerous escape stunts at all—-whether underwater, over the ocean, under the ground, inside imploding buildings, on the tracks of on-rushing roller coaster. If there’s a small hint of danger in an act,  count me out of it.

Still, I appreciate performers who have the uncommon valor to put their lives on the line for the sake of entertaining this increasingly jaded world.

Let me share with you a video of a female escape artists who almost didn’t make it alive during a performance.  The video is titled “Woman almost drowns during halftime performance”. I watched it on the edge of my seat, not knowing if she is faking it or whether she really is in trouble.

Whichever it is, the performance is first-class edge-of-the-seat suspense act.

Which reminds me of a long-held theory of mine about fakery.  I think faking something, if done well, can be entertaining.

I’ll collect my thoughts on this for a future article. Meanwhile watch the video.

Stay magical,

Leodini

www.leodini.com

